Some people think that the government should use extra money to fund programs to improve the environment. Others think that it is better for the government to spend money to support artistic programs. Which option do you prefer? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Contrary to other opinions, the government of a society have more roles to play than they seem to acknowledge. While a number of citizens have the perception that the government should have a separate budget to fund programs that will improve the society, the rest think they should rather support the growth of art oriented programs. This essay will explain why I prefer the financial investment in art oriented program better. Firstly, it will save on cost and secondly if well managed,funding the artistic projects is geared towards individual empowerment that also means a better environment. It is more budget friendly for the political administration of a society. Because most community development projects necessitate millions of gross income, a cheaper alternative is available which will still be of benefit to the civilisation. For example when the vision 2010 plan for Nigeria kickstarted in 2007, the then administration of President Yaradua estimated 10 billion naira which was almost half of the nation's national income meanwhile an alternative like TY Bello's photography scheme only required 25% of the same amount. If frugal decisions are not made other areas of a country's development would suffer the consequences. Artistic programs that focus on individual development and empowerment will ultimately be of benefit to the environment in the long run. Though it may not seem like it at the beginning, a popular saying goes thus: " empower an individual and you empower a nation". Only motivated and patriotic citizens will consider their improvement and betterment of their vicinities so it is high time the investment in Human Resources and skills is practised. A perfect example was the contributions made by governor Ambode in 2019 into Goethe pottery institute, this scheme ended up generating thousands of youths that started their own businesses and in fact went ahead to support other non governmental organisations. In summary funding artists can improve the environment. In conclusion,we may never have closure on the long debated issue on whether larger sums of money should be pumped into the economy or into artistic organisations but this essay has been able to explain why the latter option is cost friendly and that it also improves the environment.