More and more people are becoming seriously overweight. Some people think that the government should increase the price of fattening foods to address this issue. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

In light of mounting obesity in society, it is often proposed that raising junk food prices is the foremost of solving this problem. While acknowledging the reasons for this proposal, I would argue that there are other superior solutions. Granted, proponents for increasing fattening food costs might be given based on the basic economic principle of supply and demand. Higher food prices, they say, would lead to a reduction in demand for high-fat food, which would be synonymous with a lower proportion of consumers. However, this action would directly impact middle -and low-income earners as limitations in terms of finance they are facing. In addition, increasing food prices, on the other hand, doesn’t affect rich ones, so it would contribute to the exacerbation of social inequal problems. Given the aforementioned limitations, I am convinced that the following measures would be more effective in dissuading people from consuming fattening foods and thereby curbing the obesity epidemic. First, it is imperative that nutritious education be added to the school’s curriculum and that more propaganda strategies be advertised broadly on every multimedia. Such a measure should be executed in tandem with imposing more stringent regulations about the nutrition proportion of junk foods. For example, any fat- food should have a scale in the index of fat elements and calories which buyers could have noted before deciding to buy. Such drastic actions could go a long way towards encouraging people to stop or reduce eating fatty foods without raising the prices. To summarize, I would contend that imposing higher prices for fat- food would fail to prevent people from obesity and the better solutions are nutritious education and strictly requiring entrepreneurs to follow the nutritional information so that customers could understand well what they are going to buy.