With the development of online communication, people will never be alone and will always be able to make new friends. To what extent do you agree?

In this era of advancing technology, communication has become easier for us humans as we can meet and greet virtually. Because of this, some argue that people will never have to go through solitary phases in their lives as it is possible to socialize through online platforms. This essay will argue why virtual communication may not be sufficient to get rid of people's loneliness. With technological progression, online networking has become more commonplace. In the past, maintaining distant communications was not as simple as it is now. Today, it is just within hand's reach as we can call or chat with people from even foreign lands and develop rapport with them. In fact, a recent study conducted by Patronus Service found that more than two-thirds of people they interviewed maintain close kinships with people they have connected through online servers, but never met in person. With all that considered, however, the virtual connection still cannot supersede relationships made through personal meetings and gatherings. When people frequently come in close proximity with each other, only then they can feel the real essence of bonding as it allows them to observe each other's countenances, attitudes, and personalities closely. These humane traits or qualities are not easily revealed in online meetings, and the effect is the absence of spiritual bonding. Thus, people making friends online can never get the fulfilment of true companionship. And I believe, eventually they will be left alone, without anyone really standing beside them in times of need. To conclude, although virtual communication has made it more flexible to make new connections, people can still feel lonely after making friends online, as these types of friendship is only surfaced.