More and more young people from wealthy countries are spending time in communities in poorer countries doing unpaid work such as teaching or building houses. Why is this? Who benefits more from this, the communities or these young people?

In this modern world, it is said that a plethora of young people from affluent countries are participating in unpaid activities such as teaching or building houses in poorer communities. This phenomenon brings great benefits to both the communities and the young; younger people can help decrease many global crises and gain social recognition, and the underdeveloped countries get education and shelter for their citizens. Firstly, it is widely known that the world is not at peace but instead in many crises, one of which is the wealth gap. In many underdeveloped countries, people are unable to get proper education or shelter, leading to a decrease in the development rate of such communities, which will increase economic inequality. The young from opulent societies have access to resources which are able to help them become successful in life. With that, they can pass down their knowledge, skills, and materials to unfortunate individuals in order to guide them to a brighter future. Additionally, many young people are gaining social recognition for their charity works, which can be beneficial for future career opportunities. By participating in these activities, people can get certain certifications of recognition and appreciation. Secondly, it is undoubted that the poorer countries can benefit from this phenomenon, as they rely heavily on the help of others in order to improve their statuses. The charity receivers can gain a proper education, which can help them get a job, improve their living conditions and further decrease the economic gap in communities. Not only that, the act of building shelters for locals can bring happiness to many, prevent many unfortunate homeless-related events and so on. It can be seen that the society gains many benefits from charity works. In conclusion, the phenomenon of young people from opulent countries participating in charity works for the less fortunate communities avail both sides equally.