In many countries, the population of older people is steadily in creasing. Dose this trend have positive or negative effects on society?

Technology change and increasing personal wealth have contributed to the improvement of life expectations, and many countries have seen their population ageing at an unprecedented pace. The problems of this demographic change far outweigh its positive impact. One problem related to population ageing is that medical costs will increase dramatically and hurt the economy. The need for medical care as well as the spending on it tends to increase with age. Elderly people are prone to health problems such as heart disease, diabetes, and cancer, so a country with a large population of people over 65 has to increase its expenditure on medical services to treat age-related problems. This will lead to a budget cut for education, intrastate projects, and scientific research, which can affect society adversely not only in the quality of life but also in long-term economic growth. Another problem is that the productivity of the whole county will drop as the number of senior citizens increases. An ageing society tends to suspend the retirement age to keep the pension scheme running, older people make up a large portion of the workforce in these countries. These older people however struggle from declined memory capacity and other conditions which can limit their ability to process information and handle work. If they delay retirement, their poor performance may harm the company's profitability. This can result in the economic problems mentioned earlier and hurt social progress. on the other hand, it is possible to tap into the wisdom and experience of the elderly. Having worked for decades, they are experts in their field of work and have practical experience, specialist knowledge, and work-related tips that they can share with younger generations. For example, senior business managers can teach young people how to manage a company and deal with complaints and questions from clients. In conclusion, a rapidly ageing population can impose a strain on the medical system and reduce the productivity of a country. these issues are not easy to be tackled although the wisdom of elderly people can yield benefits for society.