The use of mobile phone is as antisocial as smoking. Smoking is banned in certain places so mobile phone should be banned like smoking. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

Some people believe that using cell phones in public places is an antisocial activity and ought to be banned just like smoking. In my opinion, both activities have nothing in common and should not be compared, therefore, there is no reason to ban the use of mobile phones. I do not agree with this belief, and I will explain the reasons why in the following essay. On the one hand, smoking causes several diseases and is the leading cause of death from lung cancer worldwide. Furthermore, smoking is prohibited in some areas because of the damage that it causes to other people when exposed to smoke. For example, when an individual smokes, the chemicals found inside cigarettes are released into the air, which affects not just the active smoker but the others around him. More so, the use of electronic devices has not been proven to cause any problem related to health to the user and the community, thus being safe for human use. On the other hand, these days everyone uses a mobile phone for different purposes, some use them for entertainment, others for work and education. Also, these devices are necessary for everyday life, whereas smoking does not help us in any way, it just creates more pollution in the atmosphere and affects our health. As an example, many professionals use their cell phones to have meetings via Zoom, others use it to talk to clients and close deals, instead of the typical meetings done in office settings. In this way, time is managed more efficiently with the use of communication devices. In conclusion, cell phones are needed for everyday life because it makes our life easier, without affecting our health as smoking does. Therefore, mobile phones should not be considered an antisocial activity and instead, we should celebrate the benefits of modern technology.