Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organisation. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

Due to many reasons, most individuals prefer to have their own employment at present, instead of joining a firm or an association. Although, there are many advantages, some drawbacks are also possible, thus I will examine both the causes and disadvantages in this essay. To commence with, currently, the globe is facing the crisis of overpopulation, hence job opportunities are very rare to find. Therefore, people tend to start their own self-businesses in spite of searching for white-collar careers in relation to their educational backgrounds. For instance, if we analyze the statistics of a fresh graduate getting selected for a career, it is very rare to grab a career with the degree itself hence, they try to be an entrepreneur of their own. Moreover, having self-employment can make a person more satisfied by doing what he is really interested in. Also, the availability of flexible working hours that would ultimately bring the work and family life balance are other motivations for initiating own businesses rather than doing a typical company job. On the other hand, there are possible drawbacks of being self-employed because the sole responsibility of how to mitigate the risks and losses would depend on himself only. If a natural disaster such as a tsunami, flood, tornado or earthquake occurs, the business could be completely diminished. Also, it might be depressing and stressful to handle own business since there might be no one to back up. To conclude, at present with the scarcity of career options and the freedom of having their own business, a lot of humans ignore professional careers in a firm. Even, though this trend could bring huge benefits there are some negativities such as becoming responsible for any future impact that might cause the downfall of self-employment.