“Public libraries should only provide books and should not waste their limited resources on expensive high-tech media such as software, videos or DVDs. Do you agree or disagree?”

Nowadays, there has been a big debate about whether the government should provide expensive technology such as videos or DVDs or not. Nevertheless, I disagree with the given notion due to several reasons such as different techniques of learning namely listening and reading, and the topic's variances which I will expatiate in the following paragraphs with lucid examples. To begin with, the foremost reason for disagreeing is that, the ways of learning are different for each individual like watching, listening and reading. According to an American survey, 80% of students have different needs related to grasping information, for instance, learning by watching channels on YouTube. Moreover, there are a few topics which could be better understood by watching DVDs, taking the example of human bones and organs. Hence, providing these items at public libraries would be significant for learners. Apart from that, although textbooks play a crucial role in education, a number of books are outdated which confuses learners as well as educators. To explain further, the old editions of the books have less or wrong information which can not meet their goals. Medical students, for example, always need updated information which can only be fulfilled by the Internet. Furthermore, some children need the internet to complete their assignments because of not having personal computers at home. Thus, a variety of resources like high tech should be necessary in these locations. To conclude, there is no doubt that books have their own importance, society needs all materials in public classrooms, in addition, to software, and videos. I am not in favour of the uppermost statement because providing different teaching methods is not only helpful for students but it would make education easy to access. However, the high authorities should focus on all resources, including textbooks.