The best way to solve traffic and transportation problems is to encourage people to live in cities rather than suburbs or countryside. What extent do you agree or disagree?

Most metropolitan countries are facing two main problems; transportation and traffic jams. Therefore, some folk believe that the most effective way to deal with this condition is to persuade the public to live in rural areas rather than in the cities. However, in this essay, I will elaborate on why I tend to disagree with the statement. To begin with, we cannot deny the fact that cities offer a lot more opportunities than in the countryside, causing numerous people to migrate, and making the community overload. This situation pushes the traffic jams and transport challenges, especially since most people choose to have their own car. For instance in Indonesia, based on a survey conducted by the Ministry of Transportation, 90% of Indonesian households own more than 1 vehicle in their house. Thus, this is proof that it is not undeniable why Indonesia is facing a serious problem with transit, just imagine if the society of 1 city is about 11 million, and everyone has their own car, every day in the street there must be 11 million of transportation, excluding the public transportation. On the other hand, the government of the country has to start recommending their society to live in rural areas, or at least to move to the countryside to reduce this matter of transportation since life in cities has been too crowded. The village population is quieter, so it is totally ideal. Moreover, changing the capital city of the country can be the one solution. For example, the Indonesian government has a plan for 2024 to change Jakarta, which has been the capital city of Indonesia to Kalimantan. Kalimantan is an area in the west, far enough from Jakarta, and one of the rustic areas in Indonesia. As a result, the culture of those who stay in Jakarta will lower to 5 million people, and the traffic jams issue will decrease to 30%. In conclusion, encouraging society to still live in the city is not the best option for traffic jams and transportation matters. Additionally, there must be an equality to transfer population to the countryside, so that the transportation will not be a serious trouble for the nation.