People nowadays prefer to interact online (e.g. do shopping, chat with friends) rather than talking to other people face-to-face. What are the reasons for this? Is this a positive or negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

Thanks to technological advances, it has become more common to socialize, be in contact with other people, and even perform other activities on the Internet that used to include in-person interaction. Some reasons for this situation are the time reduction and the multiple options available online. Therefore, I personally consider that the positive aspects of this phenomenon overlook the negative ones. Firstly, the main reasons for the massive use of the plataforms on the Internet include that these are less time consuming compared with the time required to do an activity in person. For instance, thanks to the immediate response in websites, social media and others, young people prefer to chat with their friends and family through them than set a date with the other person, as the face-to-face encounter demands time in the process of getting ready, and even the transportation. Another reason is that heaps of businesses have preferred to use e-commerce, then it is possible to compare products or services' prices just with a click, and then take the best option. Hence, one of the most important positive aspects is that online communication has allowed to cut or decrease limits like frontiers and different time zones between people. As a result, communication has evolved into an easy process that can be performed in the comfort of homes, and in general anywhere and at any time. However, a negative aspect of people interacting less in-person, is that those social and soft skills that used to be develop during those meeting are having a downward trend. In general, the use of online platforms is replacing real- time meetings because this kind of interaction is more time -effective. Besides, among the positive aspects differences in time and distances are reduced. Nevertheless, abilities that were obtain during the face-to-face interaction are less prone to come to existence.