Many people go through life doing work that they hate or have no talent for. Why does this happen? What are the consequences of this situation? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Several people work without vocation or passion in their career throughout their lives. This is the result of parents forcing them to follow a career path they don´t enjoy at all, resulting in workers who lack motivation and vocation for performing certain jobs. Parents play an important role in the career choice of young adults, whether they approve or not of a profession is a key factor in the final decision when choosing a profession to study for the future. For example, a study in China shows that around 54% of highly skilled professionals, including doctors, engineers and others opted to study their career as a consequence of their parent's approval of their decision. Consequently, sprouting a new generation of professionals lacking vocation and ultimately, producing mediocre or average results in their respective areas. Including areas where there shouldn't be a lack of quality in the work, like health working areas where a mediocre job could pose a threat for someone's well being. To put an example, one study about quality and control in different professions in the US, depicted a decrease in quality work over the last 4 years, the study also surveyed that the reason why the quality dropped significantly was attributed to a lack of motivation while performing the job. In conclusion, many workers lack vocation and passion while performing their job, since their parents forced them to take a career path they weren´t fond of. As a result, quality has decreased independently of the type of job they perform, including even highly-skilled professionals.