Nowadays the way many people interact with each other has changed because of technology. In what ways has technology affected the types of relationships people make? Has this become a positive or negative development?

Modern technologies have affected the way people communicate with each other. Although the development made it easier to interact with other individuals, this contributed to many negative repercussions, such as problems with real communication. To begin with, the technology of online messages has changed everything, and now, it is easier to make relationships with other people. Many texting programmes allow to send messages all over the world, without spending a lot of money. By this, many people can find many friends just by writing something or leaving a comment on someone’s social media account. Subsequently, people started to create relationships depending on how often they send messages to each other, and individuals give their preferences to online interactions, rather than communicating in the real world. For instance, a study provided by the American Sociological University claims that a quarter of American citizens prefer chatting by Internet, avoiding any real meetings or dialogue with others. However, despite the trends and positive effects, this improvement leads to many negative consequences. The development deteriorated the importance of real dialogue. This is because many individuals will find that having a fake internet friend is easier than having a real one. After that, part of the population will not be able to communicate clearly with others, and the rate of unsocial and introverted persons will grow. As a result, the lack of good interactions contributes to a decrease in important subject developments, such as science, medicine, and many other aspects. For instance, the research from Harvard University shares that in the next 10 years, the number of people who are capable of doing clear interactions will decrease by 20%. In conclusion, modern technology developed the way that people can build relationships with others more comfortably while it is also worsening people ’s capability of making real conversations.