Poor nutrition and obesity is a problem in many developed countries and some people believe that a tax on fast food would reduce the problem. Do you agree?

Nowadays, a lot of people are consuming a great amount of fast food due to some reasons. Thus, many countries are facing the problem of unhealthy food and being obese. And some people think that collecting taxes on fast food would help solve the issue. From my point of view, I partly agree with this statement since there are more effective ways to confront this problem. Initially, the rise of the obesity rate is related to the use of fast food. It is undebatable that some people choose to eat fast food because of its cheap price. So as to confront this problem, a vital way is taxing on fast food and making it quite far-reached to some consumers. However, this method could perhaps be effective for only the poor, while with the rich who are attracted by its flavor, they would still pay more coins to eat fast food. Hence, the rate of obesity can decrease to a certain level but not much. Moreover, lack of nutrition and getting fat are not only caused by fast food but also by people. A lot of people get overweight because of their laziness and carelessness for themselves. They choose to eat unhealthy food and tend to sit in one place all the time which will lead to obesity. To handle this, people should be encouraged to eat more vegetables and organic products. They should work out regularly to release the energy that they maintain while eating. To sum up, a tax on fast food would help reduce the problem about nutrition and keeping fit. However, I think it is more crucial to encourage people to take up healthy habits to gain a better lifestyle.