Many people no longer read newspapers or watch TV news programmes. Instead they get news about the world from the Internet. Is this a positive or negative development?

Some people choose to get information from the internet instead of reading newspapers or watching TV news channels. From my perspective, this is a positive development in the modern world, and I will elaborate the reasons in this essay. To begin with, in the modern world people have a dynamic life. They always need information that is accessible and updated. The Internet offers a lot of information which are easy to access of them is news. People can read the news anywhere through their devices, such as a smartphone or laptops, that are connected to the internet. Furthermore, journalists are raced to present the most updated news to their readers. Nowadays, a lot of journalists do a live session directly on the spot when they are presented with news. This is an evidence that information should be given as soon as possible. Additionally, when individuals no longer read newspapers or watch TV it can have a good effect on the environment. Because they can reduce the consumption of paper or electricity and decrease the effect of climate change. On the other hand, the internet can also bring a disadvantage. Importantly, not all sources of news on the internet are creditable. For instance, there are a lot of issues and opinions that need to be checked to whether they are correct or not. Especially during important events such as presidential election. Thus, people need to be careful when dealing with information on the internet. In conclusion, choosing the internet as one of sources to get updated information or news is a positive action. The Internet offers accessible and updated information. And it also can contribute to the environment. Getting news on the internet also poses a threat, such as a lot of hoaxes and incorrect information.