The qualities and skills that people require to be successful in today’s world cannot be learned at university or at other academic institutions. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In order to be successful in this recent world, people should not be expected to learn such qualities or skills from any academic facilities. In my opinion, I can not stress how I agree with this statement. I believe that in order to have such skills, experiences must be gained from the real world, as well as not all theories in the textbooks are practical. To begin with, it is hard to argue that without real-life experiences, everything that is learnt in schools would be superficial. Especially for careers such as doctors, and engineers,... which acquire problem-solving skills to help them tackle their tasks. Obviously, problems in those books are not able to cover all the real-life situations that they will have to face in the future. For instance, many fresh-graduated engineers nowadays are criticised for being lack of certain levels of practical problem-solving skills and frankly, it is not their fault, because of the fact that they are taught to cram for the exam only. Not only that, those who once graduated and entered working life found that theories in the textbook are not all practical, thus studying all of that was a waste of time for them. Although some formulas would help in some careers, forcing them to learn throughout all fields is absurd. For example, there have been a number of upsetting mechanical engineers reported that they have to take a history 101 course even though their time working in their fields has shortened. In conclusion, although studying in academic institutions is the best way to get a dream job. However in order to get required experiences from those future employers, real-life learning should be considered to aid those demands. Apparently, many students find that their courses do not offer reality experiences and are pointless.