In many countries, people wear more Western-style clothes (e.g. jeans and T-shirts) than their traditional clothes. Why is this the case? Is this a positive or negative development?

Individuals in many nations prefer clothing derived from western countries instead of dressing themselves in clothing based on their culture. This essay will initially discuss the causes of this trend,followed by my firm opinion that it is an adverse development. There are mainly two factors behind people ’s increased predisposition for wearing western-style attire rather than their traditional garments.The first thing to consider is the heavy influence of western fashion.The popular ways westerners dress themselves has not only been introduced to the rest of the world via multifarious media resources by globalisation but also excessively promoted,making it possible for non-westerners to imitate the styles and give up their traditional clothing. Additionally,western wear is generally more convenient regarding people ’s everyday activities.Western-style clothes are known to be simple in design and easy to wear. Hence, people normally do not need to spend much time dressing themselves up by putting on jeans or T-shirts before going out. In contrast,wearing Japanese Kimono, for example is quite time-consuming. However,whatever reasons are provided,I strongly believe negative consequences will eventually be entailed. Firstly,the passing down of local cultures can be detrimentally impacted.If fewer people wear their traditional clothes,the specific cultures embedded in the costumes will be overlooked.An obvious illustration is that many young people in China do not understand the meanings of the cheongsam and what this clothing truly represents. Secondly,the traditional clothing industry may suffer economically.Factories manufacturing traditional clothes cannot sell out their products,let alone make profits. That is why many enterprises of this kind have gone bankrupt. In conclusion,the tremendous effect of western fashion and the convenience of western-style clothes lead to people choosing to wear more clothes from the west.Despite these reasons,I completely argue this situation will result in negative outcomes,including stopping indigenous cultures from being passed down to future generations and causing damage to the local traditional clothing industry.