In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of having an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

The average life span has increased to a greater extent in most nations. Majority of the populace believe that old age individuals pose a threat to the ruling organisations, whereas other vocalise by adding that these people can prove advantageous for the surrounding community. I opine that there are more demrits linked to the above viewpoint than merits. In the forthcoming paragraphs I will discuss the points in detail with suitable examples. To begin with, negative aspects of having ageing population are shortage of the working class and most funds being diverted towards their healthcare. Since the majority of the populace belongs to the elder age zone, there has been a scarcity in availability of manpower, the nation's economy is falling as a result. In addition, persons of these extreme ages are extremely prone to contracting life threatening diseases, making them a liability of undivided attention regarding healthcare. For instance, sovereign states with high percentages of geriatric populations like Japan have to divert one-third of their capital towards providing prompt health services. Hence, making them a susceptible population to handle. On the other hand, the eleder elderly people are advantageous to the community as their immense knowldge and long years of experience can benifit everbody around them. These people continue to foster young minds with their teachings along with this, they help to maintain the spirit old culture and customs alive in everybody's heart. To sum up, as the average life span of individuals are rising, people of this generation pose a burden in terms of ever rising scarcity in the working sector and heavy expenditure of funds on healthcare. It's the governemnt's reponsibility of mitigate the problems that arise from this concern and find appropriate alternate solutions.