Some Countries have implemented mandatory community programs for young people. In these programs, children aged 16 to 18 do charity work, help old people or work with animals. What are some advantages and disadvantages for this for young people?

it has been a topic to discuss further on whether children aged 16 to 19 do charity work such as helping elders and working with animals falls into mandatory community programs rather than mere additional social program. I personally think that the obligation may include advantage and disadvantage for children, especially if the community program is considered as a subject to mark in determining children's path to higher education. Nowadays, in fast-pacing world, it is becoming harder to be in touch with social event. Young people are expected to be world's future leaders but barely have no time to interact with social life in their surroundings because the load of studying at school they have already in the first place. If this condition countinues, the leaders in the future that we are expecting will be acting based on textbook or materials. Therefore by letting them to engage with community hopefully will contribute better social interaction. For example, taking care of older generation in the weekend may generate idea that these young people are not disconnected to the life where they live. Additional value for enabling children to communicate with community is shaping emotional feeling, with the intention that one day young people as policy-makers would include prosperity of elders and animals in their framework. On the contrary, I can not disregard the negative effect in implementing this policy as mandatory. In several countries such as South Korea, community program sometimes held in weekend, according to the school and the community's cooperation. That being said, children are less likely to get enough rest the entire week, meanwhile if children do not participate, it will affect their marks. It is particularly concerning due to the fact that adding community program as mandatory will be deemed as increasing the school hours as well. In conclusion, there are sort of affirmative and negative views upon the enforcibility of community program for children to join. Yet it should not hamper the idea that community program is matter to children, but instead what the implementation should also regulate in its policy is that the when the community program will be conducted. The aim to make children to engage with elders and animals as well as children's rest time can only be achieved if the policy is inclusive enough to accomodate children's perspective as well, not merely seeing the importance of community program.