Some people think that parents should teach children how to be good members of society. Others, however, believe that school is the place to learn this. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

Nowadays, teaching children to become responsible citizens is prevalent in the community. Some believe that parents should bear the responsibility to educate their offspring, whereas, some argue that school plays a vital role in achieving this goal. This essay illustrates both of the perspectives and from my point of view, it is undoubted that parents and teachers should cooperate together in order to educate our next generation to be a better inhabitant. To start with, some believe that parents are perhaps the most influential figures in a child’s life as it is a well-known fact that children imitate the behaviour of their parents. As a result, many children adopt the thought patterns and values of their parents. For instance, if parents adhere to the value of being trustworthy and responsible to nurture their young, it seems that children would become a behaved and conscientious person after adolescence. For this reason, bringing up offspring by their parents is essential to teaching children to be good people. On the other hand, some suggest that the education system is also necessary to cultivate children to become good students. Due to the comprehensive learning environment in schools, students could learn how to become courteous by communicating with their peers. Besides, learning how to schedule study plans and prioritise learning tasks also helps students to become more systematic and structural in their work. Hence, elementary education is compulsory in educating children to be good inhabitants. In conclusion, even though parents and schools play different roles in children ’s developmental stages, they both influence children to learn the values of a positive attitude and being responsible.