At schools, students should only be taught academic knowledge to pass the exams, and skills such as cookery, dressmaking and woodwork should be learned from family and friends. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Children learn different subjects in school including non-academic skills, some people think it beneficial to focus on teaching them academic knowledge to pass the exams and ignore subjects like cookery and arts. I completely disagree, because not every student is successful academically, also, non-academic skills will help children deal with their daily life needs in the future. Although academic knowledge is important to secure a good job in the future, some students have difficulties achieving good scores in academic subjects in school. by teaching them skills like dressmaking and woodwork different career opportunities will open for them in the future. That is to say,not all students can become doctors or engineers,some of them should become models and artists. teaching children non-academic skills will help them find their way in different sectors and make money to secure their future. Furthermore, non-academic skills like cookery are important for people in their daily lives. If the students, for example, travel abroad to study or even to search for job opportunities, they would need skills like cooking to cook for themselves or some art skills to help them decorate their houses and live independently. On top of that, having those skills will save people money, they would not need to hire servants or cooks to help them prepare their meals, for example. by teaching students non-academic skills we will help them to live independent and easy lives. In conclusion, l strongly disagree that student should be taught academic subjects only to pass their exams, non-academic subjects like cookery should be taught in schools as well because they are important to find a job in the future, also, those skills will help children to live independently.