It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them Iearn this distinction. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behaviour to children? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

A group of people agree that children should be taught the difference between right and wrong at early childhood using different sorts of punishment. At the outset, I agree with them but I must confess that this is not a proper way to teach something. Parents should use positive reinforcements instead of punishments. Teachers should not be allowed to punish as well. They might use different conditioning systems to teach good behaviours to children. It is a must for the children to learn the difference between right and wrong at the early age. They should be taught positive behaviours by their parents and teachers. If they do not teach these behaviours at right time, It will be difficult later. Though It is hard for children to obey all the positive rules always but they should be habituated before a certain time. Sometimes, punishment makes children to follow the positive ways but in the long run, It is not effective. In Childhood, children might hear all the directions of parents and teachers for the fear of their punishments but It will be very difficult to control them when they will be teenagers, Nowadays, children are very sensitive so the physical and mental punishment might lead them to suicide. In Bangladesh, we witness various incidents like - a child committed suicide because he felt insulted by the punishment of his parents or teachers. On the other hand, positive reinforcements or different types of conditioning, like - classical conditioning and operant conditioning can be used to teach children the difference between positive and negative behaviour. Besides, It will be good for the childrens' mental health although this technique is quite tricky. We can give here some examples of this effective way, like - A rewarding system using various coloured cards can be kicked off. The child who will behave well, he might get a green card, who will do a little wicked activity will get blue card and the most wicked one will get red card for a week. Additionally, the children who will complete their home works will get an "Excellent" note from the teacher. On top of that, who will not complete home work, he has to join a detention class after the school hour and has to complete home works before going home. I think these techniques will be more helpful to teach the children about right or wrong. Furthermore, parents and teachers should not be allowed to punish children directly either physically or mentally. In conclusion, I must say that, learning the difference between right and wrong is a must at early age but any sort of physical or mental punishments should not be allowed. positive techiques should be used instead.