The food travels thousands of miles from farm to consumer. Some people think it would be better to our environment and economy if people only ate only locally produced food. What extent do the advantages outweigh the disadvantage?

Nowadays it is a common scenario that, foods are imported from different sides of the world and consumed by customers. There are those who say that it would be better for the development of a country, while others believe that local foods and the economy are highly affected by these reasons. I presume that the benefit of this precautionary action would surpass its drawback to a major extent. My position is elaborated further with reasons and relevant examples. Examining the brighter side, the foremost one is that people all over the world can easily taste a variety of food. Due to the improvement of globalization and good transportation systems foods can easily transfer from one country to another within a short time. For example, Bangladeshi people can taste different kinds of Kashmiri apples because they can easily be transported from India. Moreover, It has a good employment opportunity since import is one kind of business. So many people in our country are involved with these businesses. It improves the overall economy of the country. Furthermore, This business might improve the relations between the countries. To justify my viewpoint, I would like to give an example of a survey which was conducted by the University of Dhaka. The survey revealed the findings that around 60% of different kinds of fruits are imported from abroad in Bangladesh. That means in fruit sector we are totally dependent on abroad. On the contrary, there are some darker sides as it impose some negative effect on local culture. For example, in 2002 Japanese people all over the country were dependent on traditional food but nowadays it is observed that they are highly dependent on fast food most of these cuisine is imported from abroad. Besides this, there is a huge environmental loss due to transporting these foods. Many modes of transport are used to transfer the foods from one country to another. It omits fumes and wastages which pollute the country. To conclude, it can be said that there are both merits and demerits of importing food for the customers. However, I believe that importing food for customers is more advantageous because it improves the purchasing capability of customers as well as drives the economy very well.