Traditions are about the past and innovation is about the future, and it has been argued that we need to let go of traditions for the sake of progress. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this? What role should traditions have in our lives?

Some people argue that it is pointless to follow traditions in modern society considering we need to achieve future progress. In my view, I completely disagree with this opinion because traditions play a significant role in our contemporary life and no conflicts can be seen between tradition and innovation. On the one hand, nowadays, customs have become a pivotal composition in our community so we cannot neglect its functions. Firstly, traditional habits can assist a country in shaping its cultural identity, which will help its nations try their best to achieve a common goal. Secondly, some customs can regulate human behaviour, preventing us from doing jeopardous things to injure others. Take a Chinese adage, for example, do not harm others when you feel angered, which is what the elder often tell their kids. On the other hand, I do not agree the development of cultures means the abandonment of mores is essential. For one thing, traditional cultures contain enormous knowledge we can also utilize today. For instance, many states have a culture that if you want to get a significant achievement you must work hard and spend a lot of time. This theorem still has its value in the modern society. For another thing, many dreams contained in traditions will guide the direction of the future. This is predominantly because many classical tales have basic hopes of humanity such as the common prosperity which is a difficult goal waiting for the people of the world to achieve it. To summarize, traditions have played a vital role in our modern lives and innovation can grow with it. So, I disagree with discarding observances to develop the future.