Some people think the best way to solve the traffic congestions in cities is to provide free public transports for 24 hours a day and 7 days a week. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The question of whether free public transport which is available for 24 hours a day and a whole week is the foremost method to ease the traffic congestion or not has drawn much attention from the public. From my perspective, despite some negative aspects, the role of free public transport is extremely important to control traffic congestion. On the one hand, it is undeniable that free public transport brings human society several drawbacks. The key rationale is attributed to the overcrowding. To be more precise, when public transport becomes free, there is an increase in the number of people who prefer to use no-fee transportation in favour of private vehicles. As a result, overcrowding on public transport can make using it unpleasant for many or almost impossible for disabled people. Additionally, in this situation, petty crimes such as pickpocketing and verbal aggression can be rife on some forms of public transport. On the other hand, there are several reasons why free public transport is the foremost method in order to reduce traffic congestion. In fact, public transport allows many people to travel in just one vehicle, which helps reduce traffic congestion in city centres. In addition to this, using public transport not only reduces traffic congestion, but also decreases the number of accidents during rush hours. To illustrate, when people have a good incentive to travel by different types of public transport and leave their private cars at home, inevitably, the rate of traffic congestion will be decreased owing to the fact that there are fewer accidents on the roads. In conclusion, although I recognize the possible disadvantages of free public transport, it seems to me that it is a good approach for solving the problem of traffic congestion in the cities.