More and more countries are making University education completely free for their citizens. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development?

Countries are making academic education free of charge in an increasing rate. While there are numerous benefits to it, I strongly believe we shouldn't ignore the drawbacks. On one hand, free academic education is beneficiary in many aspects. For instance, many skilled students with high potential fail at attending college due to lack of financial resources. Making this possible, helps many people to see their dreams come true and be able to study in their favorite major. In addition, graduated students won't have to worry about their huge college loans, and they can spend their early earnings on building their career. On the other hand, if governments make universities cheap or free, lower budgets will be spent on education. This means the total money spending on advanced education will be much lesser. Furthermore, the overall quality of education will reduce and we will face its outcomes in the following years. For example, various occupations like doctors and engineers, depend highly on the information taught in college. With a weak training, people's lives will be at risk. In conclusion, making it easy to achieve high level educations by reducing study costs, is a positive thing, whereas we can't simply ignore the fact that this might have complications in the future.