Write about the following topic. Should students be allowed to choose which classes they take, or should they be required to take the same classes as everyone else? What are the advantages and disadvantages of each approach to education? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

There is a discussion about whether students should be able to choose their own lectures or they should follow a common curriculum as same as everyone else. The main benefits of individualised schedules are they can prioritise lessons, and select them due to their desired careers; however, the key drawbacks are they might have lacking areas and limited career opportunity after graduation without taking certain lectures. The students who select their lessons and create their own schedules rather than follow a common program will be able to take relatively important lessons for their desirements. They can prioritise few lessons and learn more deeply to these subjects. Furthermore, they could arrange their selections due to their ideal careers and discard unrelated subjects about their future occupations. For example, most engineering major candidates select analytical subjects such as Mathematics and Physics to improve their calculation and problem-solving skills before starting university educations. However, students differentiate their curriculum without following the same classes as everyone else are demonstrating lacking areas after the graduation. Imbalance between their social skills or awareness of social subjects and science subjects could be seen in these graduates. Moreover, their career opportunity will be limited after discarding some subjects to boost few fields. Eligibility for certain majors could be a problem for students after graduation from high school. To illustrate this, in France, engineering majors only accept students which took science and maths subjects in their high school transcripts. Other candidates are not eligible to apply these programs at all. In conclusion, students who select their own lessons in their educations have a chance to prioritise their lectures due to their needs and desired careers. Conversely, these people can experience lacking areas after the graduation and even they might not be eligible to apply some majors.