A lot of cities around the world have traffic jams. What are some reasons for this situation and some possible solutions?

A great number of cities all over the world have congestion. There are a number of steps that could be implemented to deal with this issue, both the causes and solutions of gridlocks will be elaborated on in this essay. There are a couple of reasons why this is happening. Firstly, this is mainly because of the overpopulation in cities. In other words, if the city is densely populated, its citizens might have a lot of cars, due to the constantly growing trend of buying them. This often slows down movement on the roars. Secondly, congestion is also possible owing to the lack of roads in the cities. Because if there were more roads, the problem with traffic would be solved. There are two effective solutions to the problem of congestion. One way to tackle this would be to improve the quality of public transport because most people prefer having their own car in order to travel safely and fast, rather than using public transport, which might often have problems with its schedule or availability. Therefore, improving the quality of it may encourage more people to use it and cut congestion. Furthermore, building more roads or multi-level transport junctions may help mitigate the problem. This measure is popular in European countries because it has already shown a great result in dealing with traffic jams. In conclusion, while the causes of congestion are quite serious, improving the quality of public transport and building more roads are effective in dealing with the issue. If governments implemented these solutions, the quantity of traffic jams would soon drop.