In many countries, there is shortage of housing due to growing population. Some people argue that new towns should be built in the country side, others argue for the regeneration of cities. What are the advantages and disadvantages of building new towns in the country?

There is a scarcity of housing due to the growing population in different parts of the world. While many believe that major cities should be rebuilt because of the disadvantages of building new towns, It is valid that new cities should be constructed in the rural areas for several advantages. On the one hand, there are two drawbacks to using new land. The first negative influence is that since forests are made way for the construction of the new infrastructure, this is likely to pose a serious threat to the natural habitat in areas. As a result, this action would likely destroy the ecosystem, which endangers thousands of animals. Moreover, there are many abandoned and deteriorating houses in the city, these properties could be replaced by new vertical buildings which provide a huge number of people with accommodation. On the other hand, constructing new towns in the countryside is beneficial. Firstly, as regenerating cities will cost nations a great deal to rebuild, building houses on the new land would be much more saving and efficient. Therefore, choosing a suitable rural area that is less likely to affect the natural environment can be a wiser decision. Secondly, because of the increasing price of housing in major cities, individuals cannot afford to buy or rent a new property. For example, Sydney City is experiencing a housing crisis, which hugely increases the rental cost. Consequently, considering buying a new house in less crowded areas seems affordable for citizens. In conclusion, despite the negatives, there are obvious reasons that building new towns in the countryside is much more advantageous.