Some believe that students should begin learning a language very early in school. Others think these subjects should be taught later. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

While it is often thought that schools should teach students new languages at an early age, others think that these subjects should be taught later. In my opinion, I consider that students should start acquiring new languages very early in school. On the one hand, according to some, students should learn a new language very early at school, and I agree. Firstly, when students are exposed to a new language at the age of 7 years, they will be able to master the language and converse in it fluently by the time they are in primary or secondary school. For instance, in Malaysia, many children are multilingual because they learn Bahasa Malaysia, English, and Chinese at school from a very young age. In other words, they will have enough opportunities to practice the language with their teachers and friends at school. Secondly, when students are still young, they are not shy to make mistakes, unlike high school students. As a result, they will keep on using the language even when they have issues with fluency and accuracy. On the other hand, some people think that students should study a new language at a later age due to the following reasons. One reason is that it can give students a lot of pressure. That is to say, when children learn a new language, they have to spend their time learning the language even at home. In some cases, it can be challenging for them when they have other subjects that need to be focused on. For example, in China, most parents start introducing a new language, such as English to their children when they are around 6 years old, and because of this, they do not have leisure time compared to other kids. Without a doubt, this can be very stressful for kids. Another reason is that some pupils may have confusion with their first language and the new language that they are learning. To sum up, although people may vary in their opinions, I think that students should learn a new language when they are still young. Schools, therefore, should come up with interesting activities to make learners feel interested in learning a new language.