Many museums and historical sites are mainly visited by tourists but not local people. Why is this the case and what can be done to attract more local people to visit these places?

There are a number of factors that explain why many museums and historical sites fail to attract the attention of the locals. The problem of the lack of attraction of historical monuments for native people is caused by people's interest in other cultures and can result in the knowledge of the next generation. The possible solutions to this problem will be discussed in the following paragraphs. Perhaps the primary reason is that local inhabitants often do not have interest in visiting these places, because they tend not to be attracted by places or objects that are familiar with their cultural backgrounds. For example, Iranian society members prefer to visit churches near the bonds of Iran instead of mosques in our familiar culture. In contrast, each year, a huge number of tourists have a tour of our historical mosques and holy attractions just to get information about the Iranian religious culture. Another reason stems from historical attractions themselves. They are often poorly conserved due to the low budget that is allocated for operation by the government. Moreover, the authority does not make an attempt to improve their situation by renovating them or running some recreational centres around them. For example, in my country the government always care about religious attraction, hence other monumental sites are in disastrous condition. However, a range of available options can be taken to tackle this issue. The simplest one is that the authorities have to start some campaigns to introduce our cultural background to the young generation from their early years at elementary schools. More importantly, the local council should allocate too much public money and many resources to conserve these extremely important heritages. Not only does it make it more fascinating for foreigners, but it is also can attract our native people. In conclusion, the above solutions were proposed for the problem of the lack of interest among residents in their tourist attraction which is a result of the government's carelessness and can lead to a decrease in cultural background in the near future. To sum up, local inhabitants are not attracted by their cultural heritage, unless the authorities think about various measures to address this issue.