in their advertising, businesses nowdays usually emphasise that their products are new in some way. why is this? do you think is a positive or negative development?

Advertising is a great marketing tool to reach the targeted group of people. In some advertisements, marketing people are trying to convince the customers by showing that they are unique. This tendency is a negative improvement. Ironically, the clients are responsible for such type of advertisement. For example, everybody wants a commodity with novice characteristics which might prove them they are using unique products. As a result, companies try to design a device with some new features to attract clients. For instance, iPhone14 does not contain any difference from iPhone13, but only updates the outlook to attract users buy this without any hesitation. Moreover, a competitive market is also responsible for developing such advertisements. If competitors grasp the market, then they will lose their share, as well as profit. Consequently, they are habituated to maintain the pace. Nokia, which had great sales of mobile phones, lost its market share as it could not synchronise with the updated operating system from Symbian to Android. On the other hand, Samsung gets the opportunity to update the operating system to Android and grasp the opportunity. This is definitely a negative development because companies are trying to take some deceptive actions to highlight their products. Thus, they add some small features which are not important for the operation, but for advertisement. For this reason, customers are getting fooled without considering the actual developments and their needs. For instance, although the overall quality of a refrigerator is the same, Walton, a renowned refrigerator company in Bangladesh, is attracting users by changing only the door, which does not update any vital function. In conclusion, it can be said that to minimise the impact of advertising, people should be more concerned about their behaviour on uniqueness to avoid attractive showcasing of a commodity. At the same time, they should justify the quality of the output.