Farmers are often not happy with good harvest. What are the reasons for this phenomenon?

Contrary to popular belief, which often assumes that plentiful cultivation is beneficial for farmers, agricultural workers despise abundant harvests owing to a couple of factors. Firstly, a good harvest could immensely reduce the price per unit, resulting in a decline in farmers ’ income. Second, abundant harvests potentially translate to higher production and storage expenditures, which undoubtedly curb farmers profit. These statements will be examined under closer scrutiny in this essay. Regarding the former, a plentiful harvest increases the quantity supplied, which could significantly deduct the price per unit; given that demands for these particular crops on the market remain unchanged, this can tremendously stultify farmers profit as they are selling the same amount of products for a lesser price. Furthermore, a sudden dip in the price of a particular crop during abundant harvest seasons typically makes it harder for this vegetation to recover in terms of cost per unit in future periods. This phenomenon occurs due to the essence of customers’ behavior as they generally do not tolerate cost fluctuations, especially when prices tend to rise, and could consequently decrease demand. In addition, a decline in profit could be financially detrimental to the farmers to a personal extent. The majority of farmers operate under the immense burden of numerous loans and debts, which often require prolonged amortization using their personal budgets to be either properly alleviated or eliminated. Granted, a declining profit can vastly extend the time it would take for farmers to repay these loans, hence causing more dissatisfaction. Concerning production and storage, plentiful harvests undeniably cause unexpected increases in raw materials of the designated products. With that being said, production lines and processing facilities possibly experience an overload of material input, thus potentially causing severe damage to multiple elements of production facilities such as the machinery or the health of laborers. Moreover, these types of damages can be permanent and could entail critical disadvantages to the processing phases of future harvests. Admittedly, there are seemingly no proper solutions to the aforementioned entanglement as constructing extra production and storage facilities, which is the most prominent candidate, has also been proven to cause prolonged negative impacts. First and foremost, this practice can raise the cost of production to tremendous heights as building proper production lines and storage houses generally costs an exorbitant amount of monetary and human resources. This not only drastically hinders the overall profit of farmers but also possibly adds to their debt. Secondly, the additional facilities solely serve as a temporary remedy to the unforeseen surge in raw materials input and could become financial liabilities to maintain afterward since they are likely to be left unused during ensuing periods. To conclude, despite the common assumption that abundant harvests grant agriculturists multiple advantages, harvests of this type have a tendency to cause vast dissatisfaction to farmers due to the increased cost of individual products as well as production and storage.