Since traffic is such a problem in modern cities, private cars should not be allowed in city centres. Discuss the arguments for and against this statement. What do you think we should do about the problem of traffic in city centres?

It is widely known that the number of private cars driving in the cities is increasing every day. In recent years, the problem of traffic jams in city centers has become very actual. The question of whether private cars should be permitted in city center areas has been discussed widely. Firstly, prohibiting private cars in city centers would reduce traffic. Moreover, it makes air less polluted and improve air quality. In addition, city center areas would become more pedestrian-friendly and safer for cyclists. Furthermore, less private cars could create more space for public transportation systems. On the other hand, banning private cars in city centers could be inconvenient for people who live there. They become less mobile and they have got difficulty with delivery of goods and private things. Additionally, businesses in city centers may loose some money because of difficulty to reach them by customers. Personally, I agree that private cars should be banned in the urban area. It will help to make more space for pedestrian and cycling road and public places. To sum up, the issue of whether private cars should be allowed in city centers is a real problem. While there are a lot of pros which are very important, there are also many cons.