Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others, however, believe there are better alternative ways of reducing crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Crime has become a topic of concern nowaday's. Most individuals believe that the most effective method to curb nefarious acts is to sentence longer years into prison, whereas others vocalise by adopting different ways to reduce it to a minimum. In the forthcoming paragraphs, I will discuss the above-stated notions in detail and will explain why I opine that rehabilitation techniques are the better choice. To begin with, sentencing longer years into prison will eventually promote criminal activity to a futher extent. Since, passing an indefinite time inside the jails would make them extremely dangerous for the community as they hold a lot of anger and vengeance inside themselves. For instance, more than two-thrids of the prisoners with long terms went back to committing illegal acts as soon as they got out. Hence, this would make things even harder for the society. On the other hand, to curb illegal acts alternate methods like rehabilitation techniques and behavioural therapy can tremendously help in finding the main reason behind commiting such henious acts and also help them in solving it. For example, after the implementation of mandatory behavioural therapy, there has been a sharp decline in the crime rates by 50 per cent. To conclude, crime is an ever-growing problem, more and more individuals will continue to commit nefarious acts and continue to pose a threat to the society. It's the government's responsibility to consider giving behavioural therapy to every prisoner and give them a chance to reduce their sentences before sending them to jail for indefinite period.