Some people think that the best way to improve road safety is to increase the minimum legal age for driving a car or motorbike. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is an opinion that giving driver licenses for vehicles like cars or motorbikes to people later than now will help to decrease the number of accidents on the roads. Many people believe that teenagers are not responsible enough to drive as they drive too fast. However, adults drive irresponsibly as well. I completely disagree with it as many accidents happen due to using smartphones and other devices during driving and drug or alcohol addictions. People use electronic devices like smartphones while they are driving at any age. It could be business calls or personal conversations between different people. For those who drive a lot, it seems convenient to use this time to connect with others. Sitting in the car in busy traffic is a good time for many people to check the news or social media as well. For instance, one out of every four car accidents in the US is caused by texting while driving, and these are not at the minimum legal age for driving. Moreover, driving under drugs or alcohol is also not inherent to people at any specific age. No matter how old they are they could drive vehicles being addicted due to this problem existing for men and women from different age groups, not only the youngest. For example, the study of the US road safety regulator can be used, which shows that more than half the people injured or killed in car crashes had drugs or alcohol in their bloodstream. It is not possible that all of them were at a young age. In conclusion, increasing the minimum legal age for driving will not help to improve road safety because this age is not the main cause of road accidents, compared with using electronic devices and drug or alcohol addiction.