Public library should provide books and not waste their limited resources on expensive high-tech media such as software, applications, videos or DVDs. Do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that public library should provide books instead of wasting their expenditure on advance technology which has expensive costs such as software, applications, videos or DVDs. I firmly disagree with the notion. Even though purchasing high-tech media will affect the cost, I believe that it is included in a long-term investment which can lead to many positive effects. With regards to the expenditure, a public library might spend more money to purchase advance technology rather than just providing books. Some contend that a public library will suffer about the costs if they bought high-tech media. For instance, a cost for buying a software will be ten times higher than that of a book. It is related to my personal experience. When I was in undergraduate degree, I have to purchase both a book and a data analysis software which has quite difference in the costs. The book that I bought was at $10, whereas the cost for a data analysis software was at $100. However, purchasing a high-tech media such as data analysis software has many positive impacts in the long term. Firstly, people can use a software in the library to get a wide access into many books from the overseas. It is because they can read e-book or other information easily through a software. Secondly, this condition will affect many people to have broaden knowledge. People can enrich their perspective through a high-tech media, so that this condition will increase an exposure regarding technology skills. In conclusion, even though a public library should spend more money for having high-tech media rather than providing books, it will make many positive impacts related to knowledge-base and technology skills.