Some people say that television is useful for education, while others say it is more useful for entertainment. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is believed by some that television is useful for educational purpose, while others think that it is the better source of entertainment. This essay argues that despite the fact that television educate children by improving their literacy skills, I believe that it helps children more to relax their mind by entertaining them. Enhancement of literacy skills of children by watching television is the major reason that why people believe that it is useful tool for education. When children watch various programs of their choice, they come across various vocabulary words and try to use them in their real life either verbally or in written form. For instance, during the learning language process, particularly in the early years, parents encourage their children to watch cartoons as they it will enrich their linguistic skills. However, this is a short-sighted view and television does not teach the significance of real educational values. When it comes to entertainment, television is the best way for children to get mental relaxation. This is because, they spend long hours in school that loads their mind with numerous thoughts, but after coming back home, when they watch cartoons or things that interest them, it reduces their stress. A particularly good example here is Tom and Jerry cartoons that displays interesting visuals and advanced animations, when children watch it, it distract their min and they feel content. For this reason, I believe that providing entertainment to the young minds is the main purpose of television. In conclusion, I believe that television is more successful in entertaining children because it more calms their mind than enhancing and enriching their language skills.