Some young people look forward to a year of travelling, a ‘gap year’, before they begin work or university and see it as a chance to broaden their horizons. For others this is an expensive waste of time. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Some young individuals have set their mind on spending a gap year before continuing their further education or career while believing that it would extend their understanding of the world. However other youngsters view it as a distraction and is simply a waste of time. Nevertheless, in this essay, I will discuss both debates and conclude with my own personal opinion. The debate has arisen as to whether a gap year is in fact beneficial. One of many reasons why students want to spend a gap year is to find their identity by travelling alone in a new environment. For instance, living alone requires youngsters to make decisions that they don't usually have to deal with by themselves. For this reason, most young adults that spend a year period exploring the world would develop confidence in decision-making and how to deal with problems alone. However, it is undeniable that a year is a long time. Students can get too comfortable after not being in an organised environment for too long. Another key point is that, while gaining more worldly experiences, they could be wasting opportunities as well. In addition, most students struggle to fit in with their peers after finishing their expedition. Considering that their friends have already continued their further education or have already started their career. To conclude, in my opinion, despite various advantages brought about by going on a one- year expedition, I believe too many opportunities would go to waste. Such as, offers from universities and work.