Some people believe that a good way to reduce crime is longer sentences. Others may think there are alternate ways to this problem. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Many people argue that an increased prison time for convicts is a measure proficient at making a safer society, while others belief that it could led to an eruption in violence and fatal consequences for prisoners. I agree with the former viewpoint because security should be a major concern for every society. The biggest disadvantage of the longer imprisonment is that it will increase the episodes of violence in jails. Due to insufficient resources, it is often difficult to manage more prisoners for the law enforcement agencies.. Since longer prison sentence implies more number of criminals, it will amplify the crime rate in prisons. Therefore, increase in the duration of punishment significantly boost the violence, resulting in more physical assault cases in those places, which poses threat to prisoners' life and safety alike. However, an increased sense of safety among citizens is a positive point of increasing the jail term for anti-social individuals. Many offenders embark on their journey of illegal activities because they are unfazed by the legal consequences of doing so and often get away with meager jail sentences. Hence, stretching their imprisonment time, such as 5 years for petty crimes, would Instill a fear in them to reconsider their choices meticulously; as a result, could act as deterrent. I believe in the zero tolerance policy for any crime. Therefore, I completely agree that even the smallest of crimes should be punished severely by raising the prison span of such individuals to inculcate heightened sentiments of safety among general populace.