More and more young people from wealthy countries are spending a short time in communities in poorer countries doing unpaid work such as teaching or building houses. Why? Who benefit from this, the community or these young people?

A growing number of young individuals from developed countries are spending a short period of time helping communities in poorer countries without pay. This is because they possibly feel responsible for that, or want to take years gap exploring the new cultures. As a result, both parties will gain benefits from that. To begin with, there are two main reasons why juveniles desire to help people in underdeveloped nations. Firstly, since education in developed countries is usually free, young people can have access to it, and thus are likely to be well-educated. Therefore, they are encouraged to develop a sense of responsibility for the less unfortunate people, which enables them to be willing to do the uncharity work. Secondly, as the living standard in poorer countries is relatively low, young graduates who have a small budget might want to take a year gap travelling to experience new cultures and help communities in these areas. For example, many young English individuals want to travel to Vietnam and teach English to students. This tendency will benefit the community and the young from wealthy nations. The first and very important advantage for juveniles is that they can have some time to relieve their stress after leaving school by travelling to developing countries. As a result, taking years gap allows them to be able to consider carefully and determine their life purposes, which helps them shape wiser decisions in their career. The second positive for communities needing help is that they have opportunities to approach modern education and learn new mindsets from wealthy nations. As a consequence, this would contribute to mutual understanding and trust among them, which enhance the process of globalisation in the future. In conclusion, young people from developed nations want to spend their time aiding the poor from developing countries for two reasons. Both parties will gain positives elaborated on above from giving their hand.