Some people think that genetically modified crops are a positive development. Others, however, argue that they are potentially dangerous. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There has been a great development in the agricultural department in recent years. On the one hand, a group of individuals believes that it is beneficial to modify the crops genetically for a healthy diet. On the other hand, some people think that this practice is hazardous for nature. I am inclined towards the former notion. This essay will discuss both views and will elaborate on my opinion. To begin with, making slight changes in the crops at the gene level is a significantly healthy step. This is because, by this method, more nutritious fruits and vegetables can be yielded, which are good for physical well-being. For example, the National Agricultural Department of India started growing different types is bananas by means of gene therapy. Interestingly, they contain calcium 10 times higher than the normal bananas which are found to be good for bone health as it speeds up the mineralisation of bones. Additionally, this practice can add up the variety in the world of fruits, vegetables, wheats and so on. In contrast, a few masses suggest that we should not play with the interior structure as a natural product as it is risky. In other words, manipulating the genetic structure can lead to extinction of the original species. For instance, Denmark is using a new type of grapes which is genetically a combination of grapes and apples. Surprisingly, they are sweeter and larger than the normal ones. As a result, the original grapes have disappeared from there. However, this is not a major issue because crops are not changed completely with genetic modification and they hold the same traditional value as the original ones. To conclude, although, genetically tailored crops cause vanishment of the old traditional crops, this practice gives numerous new ranges of species and has more health benefits than before. Thus, I consider it a great development.