In many countries around the world, life expectancy is increasing. Do the advantages outweigh disadvantages?

Recently, the life expectancy of citizens has been presented as a continually increasing trend in an increasing number of countries. This essay will list some merits and demerits of this social phenomenon, and determine whether the advantages outweigh the disadvantages. One of the compelling pros is that people living longer means that they can contribute more to the world, including human society and the natural environment. This is because individuals can have more time to focus on their careers or interests. For instance, scientists can discover and invent more, writers can write more valuable articles, and artists can compose more artworks; therefore, these results certainly benefit human society and the wild natural environment. On the contrary, it also brings a potential issue, a population problem. which means higher population pressure on earth, because the number of newborns increasing with the number of deaths will lead to a population explosion, and limited natural resources cannot satisfy human's basic needs, such as food, water, and housing. Hence, the number of people soaring has resulted in a scarcity of natural resources. Although increased life expectancy does bring great stress on Earth, this social phenomenon usually happens in most developed countries. Furthermore, developed countries likely have educated more scientists, since there are advanced educational resources there. So, an increasing number of scientists, especially those majoring in Environmental science, living longer and have more time to handle this dilemma, of a conflict between the population and natural resources. In summary, increased life expectancy may bring advantages, like individuals can have more time to contribute to this world. However, it also brings more pressure on natural resources which is the primary disadvantage. Fortunately, scientists may play a crucial role who are responsible for solving this problem to create a win-win situation. In short, in my humble opinion, its merits outweigh demerits.