In many places of the world, more larger supermarkets are built while smaller local shops are closing down. Are there more advantages or disadvantages to local people?

In recent decades, it can be commonly found that an increasing number of larger supermarkets have been opened in the world, meanwhile, smaller local stores have closed. This fact brings both benefits and drawbacks to local individuals. On the one hand, customers can have more options to choose the best products in accordance with their actual needs in the large supermarkets. Supermarket has a mature supplier-chain system which enables it to purchase various brands of the same product from different companies in the world, and thus clients can choose the appropriate product from the market shelves. Similarly, customers can get a lower price of goods in the supermarket since the supermarket has a strong price negotiation power due to a large volume of sales. On the other hand, the local unemployment rate will increase due to the shutdown of small local shops. It is generally known that supermarkets are highly automated as they use advanced management systems such as SAP and self-cashier counter, as a result, big shops do not need to hire many local employees to operate the business. In addition, small businessmen will lose their jobs due to the closure of their shops, and it is also hard for these people to find another job because they do not have other work experiences, and fewer employment opportunities are available in the smaller cities. In conclusion, although building up large supermarkets has some positive sides to the customers, the negative parts of this fact should not be overlooked.