Public library should provide books and not waste their limited resources on expensive high-tech media such as software, applications, videos or DVDs. Do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that public libraries should provide books instead of wasting their expenditure on advanced technology which has expensive costs such as software, applications, videos or DVDs. I firmly disagree with the notion. Even though purchasing high-tech media will affect the cost, I believe that it is included in a long-term investment which can lead to many positive effects. With regards to the expenditure, a public library might spend more money to purchase advanced technology rather than just providing books. Some contend that a public library will suffer the costs if they buy high-tech media. For instance, the cost of buying software will be ten times higher than that of a book. It is related to my personal experience. When I was in undergraduate degree, I had to purchase both a book and data analysis software which had quite different costs. The book that I bought was $10, whereas the cost of the data analysis software was $100. However, purchasing a high-tech media such as data analysis software has many positive impacts in the long term. Firstly, people can use software in the library to get wide access to many books from overseas. This is because they can read e- books or other information easily through software. Secondly, this condition will affect many people to have broad knowledge. People can enrich their perspective through high-tech media, so this condition will increase exposure to technology skills. In conclusion, even though a public library should spend more money on having high-tech media rather than providing books, it will make many positive impacts related to knowledge and technology skills.