Food travels thousands of miles from farm to consumers. Some people believe we should buy food from the local farmers to protect environment and support local businesses. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

These days food items are exported from various countries to customers throughout the world. While some people argue that we should promote local businesses by purchasing food items from local farmers, which also protects our environment from issues such as pollution and congestion. This essay will discuss both the pros and cons of the given situation and share my viewpoint with pertinent data. On the one hand, there are immense benefits in importing food items from different countries. Firstly, this could enhance globalisation, which provides opportunities for developing countries such as India and China to promote their food business in global market. Secondly, people have more choices to purchase their items for cheaper prices from various locations due to the competition in supply chain of food items. Consequently, there is no demand and ultimate food resources are available all the time to customers. For instance, in Canada, although we cannot farm all year round, we have vegetables and fruits available for customers. On the other hand, we cannot deny the fact that it has devastating impacts on our environment and destroy the local farming. This is to say that there are vehicles emitting fumes during the food transportation that causes issues such as pollution and traffic. Also, if we encourage the food supply from different countries, our local farmers would be jobless which in turn impacts the local economy. As a result, we have to rely on other countries always and creates food scarcity. For example, last summer there was a huge demand for rice in Canada because the supply was discontinued from India. In summary, although we have ample advantages due to globalisation, the negatives outweigh the positives because of the impacts on our environment and local economy. In my opinion, the disadvantages of this outweigh the advantages.