Some people believe that the latest technology is creating a divide between the rich and the poor. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is debatable that the gap between the rich and the poor is strengthened by state-of-the-art technology. I partially agree with this view/ notion and I will enumerate my reasons below. To begin with, there are several reasons why the up-to-date technology gives rise to the disparity between the high and low -income brackets. For one thing, the benefits of some technologies are exclusive to the rich, whereas the poor cannot have them. This is because several devices are prohibitive, causing different living styles. For example, although not only are robotic vacuum cleaners and dishwashers useful and convenient but also make life more relaxing, they tend to be consumed only by the affluent since they are overpriced. In spite of the reason mentioned above, I am of the opinion that technological development has mitigated the detrimental aspects of the wealth gap. Firstly, the quality of life has shown upward standardization due to the prevalence of certain technologies such as transportation, communication,and health, which have reduced the expenses of people. Case in point, although the mobility such as a horse or a carriage were occupied by only the upper class in the past, these days,anyone can easily use bus and subway to move around at cheap costs. Another reason in favor of this view is that the educational gap has declined owing to the dissemination of the internet, providing people with low-cost, even free, and infinite academic contents. For instance, someone can learn German from YouTube videos or can enroll at a cyber university which requires lower tuition. In conclusion, although / even though, the latest technology can lead to deeper social division according to income level, there are more strong advantages concerned with the standard of living.