Some people believe that it is the responsibility of politicians, rather than individuals, to reduce the world's environmental damage. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is a debate about whether politicians have more duty to alleviate the environmental problems all over the world or a single person does. I partly agree with this contention and I will enumerate my reasons below. To begin with, there are some reasons why an the Choose an article a the show examples public are responsible for environmental pollution. For one thing, although there are some adequate laws, it is useless if someone does not abide by the laws. For example, in South Korea, there is an ordinance that regulates the use of disposable cups. When people decide to use it, they have to environmental fees. However, they still use them a lot since it is convenient. Therefore, the ordinance has become ineffective. For this reason, individual action is crucial in the protection of the environment, even if there is a perfect law. In spite of the reason mentioned above, I endorse the view that politicians should play a more important role in environmental conservation. Firstly, they have legitimate authority to make major decisions as they are representatives of the public. Thus, they can make the laws that can viably regulate adverse actions to the environment. For instance, they can enact guidelines in order to restrict the carbon emissions of factories. Another reason commonly put forward is that politicians have a huge influence on the people. Hence, it would be readily publicized provided that the representatives practice eco-friendly actions. Case in point, if they use a tumbler instead of disposal cups or commute by bicycle rather than car, the public could follow them, encouraging these campaigns. In conclusion, although individual action can affect environmental problems, I reckon the statesmen have a stronger obligation to mitigate the contamination.