Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prisoner sentence. others think that there are better alternative ways to reduce crime. discuss both views and give your opinion.

In recent years, it has been a highly debate issue whether enhancing prisoner sentences is the best way to reduce crime in society. While supporters believe that a more serious punishment will lead to a increased deterrence. Others claim that there are better alternative ways to reduce crime. Personally, I agree with the latter. First and foremost, simply increasing the length of prison sentences could be a deterrent for some individuals but it does not necessarily lead to a significant reduction in crime rates. Instead, it will become the burden of the rehabilitated people, as the more time they need to stay in prison, the greater the chances of disconnection from society. As a result, it will be harder for them to adjust to life after leaving prison. On the other hand, there are much more effective approaches that can reduce the happen Change the form of the verb happening show examples of crime. For instance, provide education to the public, social and economic interventions. The government can provide some correct beliefs and values through some events and talks or even on TV which can help prevent individuals from engaging in criminal behaviour in the first place. Moreover, the government can bring out policies that improve the living standard for the poor like providing subsidies and improving access to employment which result in a decrease in the factor that contribute to criminal behavior. In short, there are better alternative ways to reduce the crime rate, raising the prisoner years should be the latest thing to do.