Public transport should be funded by the government so that it can be free for the people who use it. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement.

Nowadays, some claim that public modes of transport should be financed by the authorities in order to provide free transportation for all. I partly agree with this notion. On the one hand, one compelling argument in favour of free transportation is its potential to alleviate road congestion. In particular, if public transport is free for everyone to use, those who usually drive their private cars to get to or from work will be discouraged from driving and will therefore opt for trains or buses, which will reduce the number of cars on the roads. Also, government funding for traffic is associated with financial relief for the impoverished. There is no denying that daily transportation expenses can be financially burdensome, most especially for the poverty-stricken. Hence, if public transport is government-funded and offered for free, low-income households will be able to allocate their limited budget to other more essential needs like food or medicine. On the other hand, the above arguments are not for me to say that there are no possible drawbacks of completely subsidized public traffic, when in fact it may also put the government under extreme financial pressure. Public transport requires a huge operation cost, not to mention regular maintenance and remuneration for involved workers. Thus, if the government is to fully subsidize traffic, it may not only strain them but also make them leave other critical sectors like security or education underfunded. In addition to that, there is a risk of public transit crowding. It is not only unsafe but it may also reduce transportation ’s efficiency. In conclusion, I partially side with complimentary transportation as it may not only encourage less traffic and aid for the poor but also give rise to financial stress and overcrowding.