Some people believe that to protect local culture, tourism should be banned in some areas whereas others think that change is inevitable and banning tourism will have no benefits. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

In this day and age, tourism is the main contributor to some countries' economies. Some people believe that tourists should be banned to protect local culture and the environment, while others argue that it would be harmful to the economic growth of a country. From my perspective, I am convinced by the latter opinion, and this essay will discuss both views and shall elaborate on the rationale. On the one hand, it is inevitable that tourism brings some drawbacks to local people and the environment. One of these drawbacks is that some travelers come from different parts of the world, so they cannot fully understand or respect local customs and practices. As an example of this point, those who live in tourist areas can be affected by travel activities such as camping and sightseeing, which can disrupt their daily routine and the places that local people need for farming. Another drawback is that traveling can harm the local environment by transportation and travel activities. Traveling by bus, personal car, and motorbike releases a huge amount of carbon and fumes, contributing to local air pollution. On the other hand, although there are some drawbacks of tourism, these merits seem to outweigh the disadvantages. Tourism creates job opportunities for local people, decreasing the unemployment rate in tourist areas. For instance, the tourism industry needs a variety of workers to serve as drivers, receptionists, and tour guides, all of which create well-paid jobs for local people. In addition, tourism helps enhance cultural exchange between countries and encourages local trade. Travelers are more likely to buy local products as souvenirs, and they also bring to native residents cultures from different parts of the world, creating a culturally diverse environment. Consequently, children in these tourist areas have better access to different types of cultures, which can help enhance their ability to communicate and adapt to new environments. In conclusion, although tourism can cause several disadvantages for local people and the environment, such as air pollution, the merits of cultural exchange and creating job opportunities from this trend seem to outweigh the drawbacks. From my point of view, I agree with the latter opinion, and it is necessary for the government to impose laws to limit the impact of tourism on the environment.